If You Like That, Try This: “Shades of Magic” Edition!

Tickets on sale starting July 3

If You Like That, Try This is a meme in which I recommend things based on other things (i.e. if you like one book, you’ll probably like this similar book). It’s a great way to introduce people to some great stories they may have missed out on.

Today I’m recommending books based on

Shades_of_Magic_trilogy

If you like Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab, then you’re sure to enjoy these other great books and series.


  1. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

51IW0v6Zb8L

If what you liked about Shades of Magic was the atmosphere and parallel Londons, you’ll adore this book. Neverwhere has the exact same atmosphere and the quirky, magical world of London Below.

Both series (because Neverwhere is getting a sequel) also feature colorful characters, like the well-meaning protagonist who gets himself into sticky situations, the capable heroine, and the cunning ne’er-do-well. The setting itself is a character in both stories. These characters (setting included) are what keep you reading more than the plot.

If Shades of Magic spoke to your soul on a deep level, please read Neverwhere. I promise it will become one of your favorite books of all time.

I’d even argue that Schwab readers will love Gaiman in general, but I’m dealing in specifics today.


  1. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

daughter-of-smoke-and-bone-series

If what you like about Shades of Magic was the unique mythology and romance, then this series will be right up your alley. Daughter of Smoke and Bone has one of the most unique world-building and characters I’ve ever read about. And the romance? It’ll have you swooning.

What’s more, the writing style is to die for. While Schwab tends to be a bit more straightforward than Taylor’s lyrical and flowery writing, both authors paint a vivid picture with their word choice. They’re two sides of the same coin.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone is a beautiful trilogy with characters and ships that’ll tug at your heartstrings. Sound familiar? That’s Shades of Magic in a nutshell.

I also recommend Strange the Dreamer, but I’ve used it in an IYLTTS post before.


  1. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

515EbWu1IeL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

If what you like about Shades of Magic was the complex morality and the characters’ drive, then you absolutely must read this book. Not only does it have a great atmosphere, but it’s a fantastic character-driven tale.

This novel gets nearly as dark and twisted as A Conjuring of Light does, albeit in a far less magical way (The Shadow of the Wind is historical fiction, after all). Instead of a search to defeat a great evil, it’s a search for the truth (while hiding from a great evil).

This novel is just as impactful as Shades of Magic. Perhaps more, seeing as its based in real Spanish history. Either way, you must read this for an unforgettable experience.

This is also a great book for people who don’t read a lot of historical fiction.


  1. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

hdm-covers

If what you like about Shades of Magic was the existence of worlds like but unlike our own, you’ll love this series. Ostensibly middle grade, the writing is timeless enough to appeal to people of all ages— not unlike the wide appeal of Shades of Magic.

Lyra’s world is a world very similar to our own, except that everyone has a daemon (a spirit creature bound to every human). In The Subtle Knife, Lyra and her daemon Pantalaimon travel to a parallel world.

Lyra even feels like an amalgamation of Kell and Lila. And she’s surrounded by other wonderful and memorable characters, people who influence and oppose her (whether child or adult). This story is a story meant for everyone.

I’d even argue I like this story more as an adult than I would have as a kid.


  1. Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore

33951646

If what you like about Shades of Magic was seeing how different levels of magic change the different Londons, give this thought-provoking novel a try. It’s basically a story with five parallel universe, each splitting off from one seemingly innocuous choice.

It’s also interesting to see how each one is interconnected with the others. After all, each timeline is happening even if our protagonist Jane isn’t involved. They ultimately don’t have any bearing over each other, but influence the story all the same.

Mind-blowing stories can be hard to come by, but Shades of Magic and Jane, Unlimited both deliver in spades. One makes you think, the other makes you feel. Both make you love them.

I don’t have anything extra to add, but I did this on all the others.


What books do you recommend for Shades of Magic fans? Tell me about them in the comments!


If you’d like to help me continue to post consistent content, check out my Amazon Affiliate link below! Today’s link is an Amazon Prime 30-Day Free Trial Membership! Even if you don’t buy it, I still get credit when you use my link to shop on Amazon.

Try Amazon Prime 30-Day Free Trial

If you’re not into that, you can also support my blog by donating to my Ko-fi! For just the price of a cup of coffee, you can help me continue to bring you the content you love. You know, if you want. No pressure.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “If You Like That, Try This: “Shades of Magic” Edition!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s