If You Like That, Try This: The Shadowhunter Chronicles Edition

Cassandra Clare’s magnum opus The Shadowhunter Chronicles is one of the most successful YA series to date. The characters are well-loved, the plots infamous, and the ships swoony as hell. But what do you do once you’ve exhausted every word of the overarching saga? Well, I’ve found a few other books and series that I think you may really enjoy if you’re thirsting for something with a touch of Clare. There is no doubt in my mind that you’ll love these books just as much as I do.

  1. The Embrace series aka The Violet Eden Chapters by Jessica Shirvington: This series follows Violet Eden as she is thrust into the dangerous world of angels. Violet discovers she is a Grigori, a part-angel being responsible for sending Exiled angels back to their realm for judgment. Meanwhile, she fights her feelings for Lincoln, her partner-in-angel-fighting. This series is similar to The Mortal Instruments (with a dash of Vampire Academy and Divergent), but with its own unique spin.
  2. Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger: This New Adult urban fantasy follows Bailey Chen, a recent college grad who gets a job at a local bar and makes a shocking discovery. Turns out, demons are real and bartenders slay them. Using special alcoholic concoctions, bartenders gain powers in order to fight the creatures that lurk in the night. It’s a strange concept, but intriguing. It’s not a fabulous read, but it’s quick and fun. It’s The Mortal Instruments with an adult twist.
  3. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd: This novel is a loose retelling of three classic Gothic novels, The Island of Dr. Moreau by H. G. Wells. It follows Juliet Moreau as she travels to an island where her disgraced father has been hiding for years. As she settles into life on the island, she discovers her father has been continuing with the very experiments that got him banished and a killer is terrorizing the island denizens. Meanwhile, Juliet is being wooed by two very different boys and just trying to follow her passion for science. However, while I loved the first book, I don’t recommend continuing on with the series. The first book is self-contained and has a nice, concise arc. Future books only ruin that. This story captures the time period and culture of The Infernal Devices and the Gothic, mysterious nature of The Dark Artifices.
  4. The Bone Season series by Samantha Shannon: This New Adult fantasy follows Paige Mahoney, a dream-walking psychic who gets taken to a mysterious camp run by Rephaim. Paige plans her escape, while Warden— her illustrious teacher— aims to help her strengthen her power. The highly inventive world and culture are immersive and unlike any other, providing the wild escapism of Clare’s world.
  5. The Archived series by Victoria Schwab: This series follows Mackenzie Bishop who hunts spirits of the dead and keeps them from entering back into the world of the living. Along the way she meets Wesley Ayers, a Goth kid with a great sense of humor. As Mackenzie acclimates herself to her new home, she begins uncovering some of The Archive’s dirtiest secrets and she begins questioning who she can trust. This book mirrors the corruption of the Clave and the supernatural hunting. Although the third book has no release date, it’s still a series worth getting into.

 

If you’re looking for something to fill the void left by Lord of Shadows, I highly recommend these series. They’ll knock your socks off!

 

Do you have any recommendations for people who love The Shadowhunter Chronicles? Let me know in the comments!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s